Hopwork IPX Series – Mt Hood, Hopworks Urban Brewery

I am in love with single hop IPAs at the moment.  As a homebrewer I want to learn what each individual hop contributes to flavor and aroma so that I know which hop to use when I’m trying to target a certain flavor.  I just brewed my own single hop IPA with Mosaic hops that I’m really excited about.

Hopworks IPX Mt Hood – 6.0% ABV, 60 IBU

This beer pours a nice golden color with a white head.  The label describes the hop variety as “mild” and it certainly is.  Nothing over powering in the flavor or aroma.  The aroma is grassy and earthy and a little floral.  The flavor starts with some malt sweetness and then a nice floral hop flavor.  Nothing strong, but nice and smooth.  Extremely drinkable.  The bitterness lingers in the finish, but it’s not strong or unpleasant.  Beyond that the finish is very clean.

Rating: 4 (of 5) stars – Pleasant and refreshing.  Well done IPA.

The other two in this series I’ve tried were the Ahtanum and US Fuggle, but I didn’t take detailed notes for those.  I didn’t rate the Ahtanum, but I gave the Fuggle IPA 4 stars also and noted it was “Some floral, some citrus”.

Leave a Reply

